JY Logo
Home      Biography      Missions      Appearances      Bibliography      Site Map      Critique this site!
photo from John Young page

NASA ID: unknown
Date Taken: 02/19/63

Version of Groups 1 and 2 with signatures.

Astronaut Groups 1 and 2. The original seven Mercury astronauts selected by NASA in April 1959, are seated (left to right): L. Gordon Cooper Jr., Virgil I. Grissom, M. Scott Carpenter, Water M. Schirra Jr., John H. Glenn Jr., Alan B. Shepard Jr., and Donald K. Slayton.

The second group of NASA astronauts, which were named in September, 1962, are standing (left to right): Edward H. White II, James A. McDivitt, John W. Young, Elliot M. See Jr., Charles Conrad Jr., Frank Borman, Neil A. Armstrong, Thomas P. Stafford, and James A. Lovell Jr.


If directed to this page by a search engine, Click here

Contact me: webmaster  @  johnwyoung.org